A Little Town with A Great Big Life

Major Cronulla Surf Contests:
1982 Straight Talk Tyres Open
Date: March '82
Elouera Beach, Cronulla Point

Final: Winner Cheyne Horan defeated Mark Richards

Semi Finals:
Mark Richards defeated Larry Bertleman
Cheyne Horan over Greg Day

Quarter Finals:
Larry Bertleman defeated Wayne Bartholomew
Mark Richards over Glenn Winton
Cheyne Horan defeated Derek Hynd
Greg Day beat Dane Kealoha

Contest Director: Graham Cassidy
Head commentators: Steve Core and Chris 'Critta' Byrne

1983 Straight Talk Tyres Open
Date: Feb 18-20
Elouera Beach, Cronulla

Winner Tom Curren defeated Shaun Tomson in the final
Equal Third: Terry Richardson and Glenn Winton

Quarter Finals:
Terry Richardson defeated Glenn Rawlings
Tom Curren defeated Greg Day
Shaun Tomson defeated Jim Banks

Four Cronulla based surfers really flew the Cronulla flag by rising to the occasion in '83 and made the cut into the top 32 surfers in Round 1 of the main event. They were...
Jim Banks, Michael Mackie, Mark Occhilupo and Iain 'Ratso' Buchanan

Occy was knocked out in Round 1 by Tom Carroll
Michael Mackie was bumped off by Jim Banks in Round 2
Jim Banks knocked out by runner-up Shaun Tomson
Greg Day accounted for Iain Buchanan in Round 1

Contest Director: Graham Cassidy
Head commentators: Steve Core and Mark Warren

The contest's winner Tom Curren was guest of honour at the presentation night at Cronulla Leagues Club - he was knocked back for admission at the club's main door for wearing thongs. He had to go all the way back home and put on some 'real' clothes. Apparently the doorman didn't believe his spiel about just winning the contest, $18,000 in cash and a new Datsun Station-wagon!

1984 Beaurepaires Surfing Open
Date: March 27 - April 01
Elouera Beach, Cronulla

Winner: Tom Carroll defeated Barton Lynch in the final
Equal third: Shaun Tomson and Mark Occhilupo
Barton Lynch knocked out Mark Occhilupo from making the final
Tom Carroll stopped Shaun Tomson from reaching the final [the first time they had met man-on-man]

Quarter Finals:
Tom Carroll defeated Joey Buran
Shaun Tomson beat Domonic Wibrow
Mark Occhilupo took out Glenn Winton
Barton Lynch stopped Ces Wilson

The Saturday night of March 31st saw the first ever night surfing event - under lights. Drawing a biggest crowd to ever attend a surfing event; 40,000 to Elouera Beach. Creating gridlock and traffic jams that locals still talk about today. Cramming every vantage point you couldn't even walk along the beach pathways. Tom Carroll's 1st place prize was $20,000 + a new Holden Jackaroo car and $4,000 worth of AWA-Thorn video gear.

Contest Director: Graham Cassidy
Head commentators: Steve Core and Mark Warren
Assistant commentators; Hunter Joslin [Florida], Mark Richards, Rabbit Bartholomew 

1986 Beaurepaires Surfing Open
Date: March 11th - 16th


1968 Inaugural Bobby Brown Memorial Contest
Date: January 10-11, 1968

1st day - Wanda Beach
2nd day - Sandshoes Reef [Oak Park]
Traditional style 6-man final at Sandshoes Reef:

1st Midget Farrelly
2nd Keith Paull
3rd Ted Spencer
4th Frank Latta
5th Robert Conneely
6th Kevin Parkinson

Presentation Night: Cronulla RSL

1969 2nd Bobby Brown Memorial Contest
Date: March 1-2, 1969

1st Frank Latta

1970 3rd Bobby Brown Memorial Contest

1st Andrew McKinnon
2nd Frank Latta
3rd Paul Neilson
4th David Treloar
5th Terry Fitzgerald
6th Michael McCormack

*16 year old Andrew McKinnon took the perpetual Bobby Brown trophy home to the Gold Coast in Queensland where it has been for the last 41 years.

Pride of Place: The Bobby Brown Memorial Contest
perpetual trophy in Andrew McKinnon's
lounge room in 2010.

Becasue there have only ever been three contests
there are only three winners names on the trophy:
1968: Midget Farrelly
1969: Frank Latta
1970: Andrew McKinnon